#52craftyprojects · Art Journal · Blog

23/52 – I Read, I Travel, I Become…

Hello everyone..Welcome to my blog 🙂

The more you read, the more you know. The more you learn, the more places you’ll go” said Dr. Seuss.

The love of reading and travelling along with a few techniques inspired from favorite artist Vicky Papaioannou (you can find her blog here) was the inspiration for this week’s project – An art journal page. I have attempted to take step by step images of the project, so this is a picture heavy post. Sit back and enjoy 🙂

Step – 1 – Glued down a printed tissue paper on the journal page.

IMG_7549.JPG

Step 2- Added gesso to tone down the brightness.

IMG_7550

Step 3 – Using modelling paste and Tim Holtz stencil, added texture to the page.

Step 4 – In the next step I spray painted the page with acrylic shimmer colors. Highlighted the stenciled aread with metallic bronze.

IMG_7568.JPG

Step 5- Stamped some script on the page using archival inks.

IMG_7569.JPG

Step 6 – For embellishing the page, I stamped some travel related postcards and stamps and inked them with distress inks. For the stack of books, I drew them out on paper and colored with Faber-Castell brush pens.

IMG_7570.JPG

Step 7 – Placed the paper pieces on the layout and added my quote. At this point I decided to add some white splatter around. I covered the embellishments and dropped the splatters randomly.

Here’s the final look of the page.

IMG_7581.JPG

Hope you liked it!

Thanks for stopping by

Cheers

xx

Leave a Reply

