#52craftyprojects · Art Journal

17/52 – Hocus Pocus

Hello everyone….

Welcome to my blog 🙂

The other day at work, a friend and I were talking about the places we would love to visit. The conversation led to Morocco and the various mystique and natural beauty oils available there. This was my inspiration for the week’s project – A magical art journal page (yes, I am back to journalling 🙂 )

I have used a variety of paints for this layout.

I started with a gesso’d page, used Pure Sunshine dylusions spray and burnt sienna acrylic paint for the background.

IMG_7535.JPG

I also added textures with stencil & modelling paste and ran distress inks over the highlights

IMG_7536.JPG

The magic potions bottles are hand cut – I used my gelli print papers from my home made gelli plate and embellished them with rhinestones. I have rubbed some glitter too on the bottles, which does not show very well in the image, but it’s there 🙂

IMG_7533.JPG

The concept I had in mind was to show one of the bottles broken or opened up and the contents spilled all over, spreading its magic. To achieve this, I dropped the 4th bottle and let the potion spill over 🙂

For the potion, I have used glitter and Fabrica 3D liner paints to get the mystique effect.

IMG_7534.JPG

Scribbled a quote on the edge of the page (Ignore my hand-writing :p)

IMG_7532.JPG

Hand-wrote a quote and added some sticker embellishments to complete the look.

IMG_7537.JPG

Hope you liked my page, do tell me if you did.

Thanks for stopping by

Stay Magical 🙂

Cheers

xx

4 thoughts on “17/52 – Hocus Pocus

  1. hey very beautiful work…but wanted to know what exactly is gesso and where all can it be used any particular brand for gesso…or do we get in itsy bitsy…thx

    Like

    1. Thanks Divya. Gesso is a primer used to make a porous surface non-porous so that it holds paints better. You can use gesso on pretty much anything – paper, wood, metal….just anything!

      Like

Leave a Reply

