#52craftyprojects

Week 5/52 -No rabbit hole here!

Hello everyone…

Welcome to my blog. It’s a beautiful day to keep crafting 🙂

The last weekend of the first month of the year, how quick did January go!

Today’s is a pretty long picture-heavy post, so sit back with a cup of tea and enjoy 🙂

Alice in Wonderland has been one of my favorite stories since childhood. Her journey was filled with travails, humor, and confusion and yet she manages to stumble her way along, managing fear, misunderstanding and chaos, figuring out her own skills, strengths and talents, and making friends all along.

That being said, I thought it would be wonderful to encapsulate Alice’s adventures and showcase it through my skills. And what I did was a 2-sided tag!!!

552

 

The making of the tag began with prepping the tag base which is a Flying machine jeans price tag. This has been in my stash from last year’s shopping season and now was a perfect time to use it.

IMG_20151224_072356

Applied two coats of gesso to the tag and then added bricks texture with stencils and chipboard cut pieces. Painted the tag with pink acrylic paint, I wanted to keep it light and pastel but in all my enthusiasm ended up making it bright! Then again, I think it looks great this way. I sprayed Iced spruce distress ink around the bricks to highlight them.

Our main protagonist, Alice was hand-drawn and then photo-copied, so that the lead doesn’t run while painting. Alice looks a bit messy with smudges here n there, that was just me being clumsy:). But I decided not to fix it cos which kid her age has adventures without getting dirty-correct?

552a

 

Printed cut-outs of the sentiments from the story were then glued. “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there” – how philosophical, isn’t it.

IMG_7396

 

With one side done, I moved to work on the other side, this was to be my wonderland side with the mystique aura. I added a chipboard door and worked around it. You will see the Cheshire cat, rabbit, deck of cards here, I also added glittered mulberry paper roses along with some natural ferns for a garden effect.

IMG_7397IMG_7398IMG_7400IMG_7399IMG_7394

 

The tag is now complete and is one of my priced possessions

2 sided

And it hangs in my car, reminding me to have an interesting day everyday 🙂

share_tempory

 

Thank you for stopping by. Have a happy and adventurous day!

Linking to

Mixed Media Monthly #20

Lemon Shortbread #7

Simply Papercraft #22

Not just cards #28

SOS Challenge #236 Inspired by a Book

Cheers

xx

12 thoughts on “Week 5/52 -No rabbit hole here!

  1. This is amazing! So much detail on this stunning tag. I am so pleased you have kept it and see it every day. So pretty. Thank you for sharing this with us over at Simply Papercraft. Sue DT

    Like

Leave a Reply

