#52craftyprojects

Week 4/52 – Unleash your power

Hello everyone…

Welcome to my blog. It’s a beautiful day to keep crafting πŸ™‚

I love textures and have always been wanting to play around with tissue-paper textures. Decided to do the deed this week and it was super fun.

Altered a 15+ years old cookie tin to treasure my craft goodies.

Unleash

Started off with sanding the tin to smoothen the surface and then stuck tissue-papers in random using home-made texture paste. Had to set it aside for nearly 4 hours to dry. I don’t own a heat gun so had to let the nature do the job and I hate waiting! Ironically we crafters are an impatient bunch!

Anyhow, once dried, I used acrylics and metallic colours to coat it completely. I went with blue acrylic and then dabs of black and bronze metallic. Just the effect I was hoping for.

IMG_7327

After this it was just about adding the embellishments. And I quite literally picked items that I could lay my hands on! I have used metal scraps from the garage, Itsy-Bitsy’s chipboard cogs & gears. For the log I cut a piece of chipboard, painted and then stamped it.

IMG_7321
The tin did not have a knob to its lid (sorry forgot to take a before picture). Guess what the knob is made of….it’s a bottle cap πŸ™‚ – gesso’d, painted and then crackled. Before fixing the lid knob I glued in an old bracelet and added the key to it. The cute little key was given to me by my dear friend Priyanka, it is a die-cut made from cereal box.

IMG_7324

Have generously applied Ranger’s crackle accent on all embellishments to match with the background.

I got too adventurous and decided to hand-write my sentiment, even though I don’t have a good writing :p. It’s not too bad, but could have been better. Well, there’s always a learning isn’t it.

IMG_7323

A final coat of varnish to preserve the box for long and it is now ready to use. Have been storing all my price tags in this and it looks great in the shelf.

Unleash

As always, thank you for stopping by.

Linking this to

613 Avenue – #160 Anything goes

Wonderful Wednesday – ATG

Our Crafty Corner – ATG

Love to Scrap #70

Lemon Shortbread #7

Inspiration Destination #69

Crafty Friends Challenge #23

The pencil case – kraft/black

Craft for the Craic – January Blues

Cheers

xx

 

2 thoughts on “Week 4/52 – Unleash your power

Leave a Reply

