#52craftyprojects

Week 1/52 – Dare to Dream

Happy New Year to all of you! May the world be more beautiful this year!!

I welcome this New Year with #52craftyprojects challenge that I have taken upon myself and here’s my first project.

Recently I started working with a new organisation and with the change in place, I also had the opportunity to decorate my surroundings 🙂 – a crafter’s delight isn’t it! I wanted to have a statement piece that is artsy and also be inspirational during those off-days at work.

And here’s what I came up with…..

Fotor_14510473348521

My initial thought was to have a Butterfly (I fancy butterflies a LOT!). But then the wings caught my attention and I am glad I changed my mind. I feel the wings truly bring out the meaning of the sentiment.

The mount is a plastic stand (more about it at the end) and I have glued the canvas art on it. First I cut the canvas to the desired size and then using the Craftslane’s decorative background stencil created a textured background. Once the paste was dry, I coloured it using green acrylic paint. At this point the green looked too bright, so I decided to dull it a bit and used Iced Spruce distress spray. Loved the way it turned out.

IMG_20151228_142435

To highlight the background, I rubbed gold paint randomly all over. With the canvas done, the project was almost complete. I hand drew the wings and the sentiment using CD markers and painted them with a light coat of acrylics. Glued them to the canvas and added some rhinestones for finishing touch.

This piece now proudly sits at my work desk reminding me to follow my dreams everyday 🙂

share_tempory (1)

Now to the plastic base I have used…

I must have already mentioned that I am a believer of Reduce-Reuse-Recycle and that’s what I did here. I had this old birthday wish piece lying at home. This must be at least 15 yrs old, and I think it was gifted to my sister (hope she doesn’t mind me using it :p ). It’s a plastic stand and had the birthday sentiments printed on a paper and glued. I removed the paper (have saved it for another day), scrapped off the left over adhesive and used it for my project.

Fotor_145104723360429

Thank you for stopping by and hope all your dreams come true

Linking this to;

Word Art Wednesday #217 – Anything goes

SimonSaysStamp Monday Challenge – Stencil it

Scrapper’s Delights #51

Cheers!

xx

 

13 thoughts on “Week 1/52 – Dare to Dream

  1. Beautiful piece, Sheetal! Looks like a wonderful addition to your crafty space, and a great reminder through the year. Love the stenciled and textured background you created, it looks fab popped against the red. Thanks for joining us this week at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

  2. Such lovely cards. Thanks so much for playing along in our challenge. I hope that you will stop by to join us again soon.
    Blessings,
    Karen
    Word Art Wednesday

    Like

  3. Vibrant lively color and image. Thank you so much for taking time to post your very creative art with us this week at Word Art Wednesday in our 217th- FF AG challenge! Our first challenge in 2016. Praying you will have a Blessed, Prosperous, Peaceful and Creative 2016, Carole

    Like

  4. Thanks for entering the Scrappers Delights challenge. I love your card, the sentiment is fab. Good luck and thanks again for entering.
    Nicky
    (Scrappers Delights DT)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

